Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Second ‘History and the Hill’ Conference

June 13 @ 9:00 am - June 14 @ 5:30 pm

The second annual Australian Policy and History ‘History on the Hill’ Conference is designed for both policy practitioners and historians. In a series of historical case studies, the conference will disseminate expert knowledge about the historical background to pressing issues of public policy. Practical workshops with leading public servants, journalists, historians, writers and commentators will equip historians with skills to communicate their expertise to the policy community. Speakers will include Katharine Murphy, James Button, Dr Peter Shergold and Terry Moran (both former secretaries of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet), Professor Judith Brett, Professor James Walter, Professor Stuart Macintyre, Professor Shurlee Swain, Professor Ann McGrath, Professor Frank Bongiorno, Professor David Lowe, Professor Peter Edwards, Professor Alistair Thomson, Professor John Murphy, Professor Matthew Ricketson, Associate Professor Andrea Gaynor, Associate Professor Clare Wright, Associate Professor Kate McGregor, Associate Professor Michelle Arrow, Associate Professor Noah Riseman, Associate Professor Gwenda Tavan, Dr Nell Musgrove, Dr Joanna Cruickshank, Dr Ruth Morgan, Dr Carla Pascoe Leahy, Dr Lyndon Megarrity, Dr Carolyn Holbrook, Dr Benjamin T. Jones, Dr Julie Suares, Daniel May, Deborah Nance and Brad Underhill.  Areas of focus will include refugee policy, environment policy, child welfare, parenting policy, diplomacy and foreign aid. More details and speaker announcements to follow.

Please direct inquiries to Carolyn Holbrook, carolyn.holbrook@deakin.edu.au

LOCATION: Tower 2, Level 12 Deakin Downtown

727 Collins St MELBOURNE



June 13 @ 9:00 am
June 14 @ 5:30 pm
Event Categories:
, ,


Carolyn Holbrook
David Lowe
Carla Pascoe Leahy


Deakin Downtown
727 Collins St. Tower 2, Level 12,
Melbourne, Vic, Vic 3008 Australia
+ Google Map